Fall is in the air!


I’m officially experiencing my first New England fall… and holy WTF, it’s COLD in September? What is this madness? At home, it’s still pushing 100. I’ve been wearing sweaters and boots here the last few days. Boston really is a whole other world!

The onset of fall, though, has really kicked my bootay into gear with looking for winter clothes and boots and other warm/snugglies. That’s where you come in, lovelies! I refuse to believe that warm=fugly, so I’m looking for kickass and fashionable– yet FUNCTIONAL– winter suggestions! My list (so far) includes:

  • tights
  • knitted hats
  • long down jacket
  • shorter wool jacket (no short puffers on this bod, holy marshmallow!)
  • BOOTS! (black, preferably, but if they’re cheap i’ll get a cognac pair too)
  • warm knee socks
  • gloves
  • scarves
  • warm shirts

Who wants to help? Suggestions, people! I need suggestions!

And to show you stuff I like, I made a pretty Polyvore collage…

winter clothes 1

winter clothes 1 by Lindsay Goldner featuring cotton jeans

Old Navy Womens Cocoon Cardigans
$37 – oldnavy.gap.com
Wrap tops »

H81 Floral Thermal Top
$9.90 – forever21.com
Thermal tops »

Babylon Coat
$130 – modcloth.com
Vintage coat »

A Fresh Coat in Hot Pink
$93 – modcloth.com
Vintage coat »

Jean coupe mince
$12 – canada.forever21.com
Cotton jeans »

snow forest
home.comcast.net


7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Abi Jones
    Sep 15, 2010 @ 18:04:46

    I like wearing sweater dresses with leggings and boots in the winter. It is a cozy outfit that keeps me warm and looks professional enough for the office.

    Reply

  2. Abi Jones
    Sep 15, 2010 @ 18:06:11

    I should clarify that the coldest place I’ve ever lived is Washington, DC. So I don’t know how people would dress in a place where it actually gets super cold. I dressed most days back then in slacks, a sweater, a long wool coat, and anger. Oh, and cute gloves. Treat yourself to a nice pair of cashmere lined leather ones.

    Reply

  3. Lindsay Goldner
    Sep 15, 2010 @ 18:10:21

    Thanks Abi! I’ve been wearing sweaters+leggings+boots THIS WEEK, so I’m guessing I’ll need a lot more warm layers for winter!

    I love the dressed in anger part… I get the feeling I’m going to be cursing Boston on a daily basis in the next few months, ha.

    Reply

  4. Jay Neely
    Sep 15, 2010 @ 19:04:31

    When you mention boots, I get the feeling you’re not thinking rain boots… which you should definitely get, because Boston gets pretty slushy in the winter. There’s a little corner shop at the edge of Harvard Square proper, called Berk’s, that sells shoes. I think you’d like it: http://www.yelp.com/biz/berks-cambridge

    Reply

  5. Lindsay Goldner
    Sep 15, 2010 @ 19:07:19

    Amazingly, I have rainboots… norcal was pretty rainy! They’re not super warm though, and I KNOW I’m gonna need some warm boots for my toesies!

    Reply

  6. kadeanfrasio
    Sep 15, 2010 @ 21:18:24

    Hey Lindsay,

    I’ve never braved a New England winter but winters in Flagstaff and Seattle can be pretty ugly. My absolute favorite resources are JCrew and Eddie Bauer. JCrew has wonderful wool coats that are super warm and last forever, and in the men’s section they have some really cute “camp socks.” LL Bean will totally have the down jackets you’re looking for. What I like about their collections most is the fact that they’re classy and timeless. I’ve had my JCrew peacoat for almost 5 years and it still goes with everything. JCrew has the most beautiful corduroys and you can’t go wrong in the winter with thick cardigans and sweaters.

    Anthropologie, Gap, and Abercrombie and Fitch typically have some pretty but functional scarves and I’ve found really thick tights at Kohls. I absolutely love gloves from The North Face (sometimes I’ll even just wear their glove liners). Any sporting goods store like REI (or something like Billy’s Boardshop in Santa Clarita) will have knit hats and whatnot. Also, I don’t know if you knit but it is so much fun when you’re snowed in to grab some knitting needles and a cup of hot chocolate and knit yourself a scarf or a beanie. 🙂

    My best advice with boots is traction, traction, traction. You will fall, it’s inevitable, but if you invest in a good pair of shoes you will hopefully be able to feign a graceful stumble. I absolutely love my Ugg Adirondacks. The entire boot is lined with fur and they’re incredibly warm. I also have a really good black pair of snow boots from the brand Totes but they’re pretty unattractive.

    My apologies for the exhaustive laundry list but I absolutely love fall and I’m starting to do my shopping as well. 🙂 Keep us posted on your first winter. I’m 100% sure that I’ll be heading to New England for graduate school/life and I’d love to have the opinion of someone who can compare it to California!

    Reply

  7. Sonja
    Sep 16, 2010 @ 05:44:55

    I highly recommend you get the North Face Transit jacket. My favorite coat last winter: http://bit.ly/cqsZFj. Perfect length, can still layer underneath, and doesn’t make you feel like a marshmallow. This is what you’ll need late November/December and through (sometimes) March. (Yikes.)

    For interim cold cuteness, I highly recommend getting an “in-between” peacoat or some such thing. It’s important to have a wide selection of outerwear when living in Boston.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

