Gemvara, shiny pretty things, and being a grownup


If you’ve been out of the loop (read: not on Twitter/Facebook) lately, you might have missed a very important announcement:

I GOT A JOB!!!

It’s a big deal. And I guess I can say now that I’m a big deal too 🙂 Two months out of college and landing a job in another state… not too shabby, eh? Here’s the deets: I’m working for Gemvara, which is a custom jewelry startup.  I’m their Social Media Coordinator, which basically means I handle Twitter, Facebook, and various other online marketing efforts (talking to bloggers, etc. etc.) It’s located in Lexington, which is a schlep from where I am because it’s past the end of the T’s red line… which means taking a shuttle to/from the T every day.

You know you work at a startup when…

  • there’s a basketball hoop in the middle of the office
  • the office fridge is stocked with beer and Diet Coke (thanks, Highland Capital!)
  • wall decor ranges from life-sized basketball player cutouts to company mission statements to signs threatening to off kittens if quotas aren’t met (kidding, people!)
  • on your first day, the founder walks in wearing this:
Matt Lauzon, Founder of Gemvara

Seriously, this is the head honcho...

Because I’m working there, and because they’re awesome, you should check it out.  They have great and prettyyyy jewelry — which I’m lucky enough to get to wear to BlogHer this weekend, pics to come — and the customization options are really cool- you get to see the rendering of your piece in 3D color, not just some b/w jeweler’s sketch. Plus, if you decide that there’s something you like, I might be able to hook you up with a discount… and your purchase would go towards paying my paycheck!  If you get the urge to buy me something from the website, here’s one of my all-time favorites (so far)-

diamond ring

Someday, my prince will come (and buy me this!)

… just in case you were wondering. Hey, a girl can dream, can’t she?

This grown-up thing is hard…

but I love it. I miss California with all of my heart, but being on my own is pretty amazing. Like really, really amazing (despite the bill paying and the dr’s appointments and taking care of my cat/baby lol). BlogHer is almost here, I’m running a swap out of our hotel room and doing awesome Gemvara giveaways, so it will be insane and exhausting, but hopefully amazing, awe-inspiring, and educational too… not to mention fun! Anyways, because being a grownup is so hard, I’m going to bed (before 11, a minor miracle). Will be updating from BlogHer, though, so keep a lookout!

Leave me some love to check out while I’m in NYC, will ya? It’ll help me feel less alone at a conference of 2500 women, none of whom I’ve ever met before!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jen
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 18:33:17

    Sounds like an awesome place to work! 🙂

    Reply

  2. betty
    Aug 08, 2010 @ 17:05:24

    omg that ring is absolutely gorgeous! I would love to work for a jewelry company!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

