Leaving, on a jet plane!


Today marks the one-week-out point before I pack up the remainder of my junk and move to Boston. Holyyyy crap.

In case you couldn’t tell, I’m freaking out a bit. I can’t quite put my finger on what it is that scares me so much- maybe it’s the weather (oh god, snow and humidity), the accents, the different culture, the new apartment, the lack of a job, or being so far away from the CA side of my family. I’m so lucky that I’m already being totally supported by my MA family (that’s ironic, since it’s actually my dad’s family… hardy har har). They’ve been so helpful in checking out places, letting me send boxes to their houses, and hopefuly stocking my fridge as a graduation gift before I show up. It doesn’t get much better than that.

But still, every time I really start thinking about the impending move, panic sets in. I’m a big girl, I’ve been living on my own (well, physically anyways) for the last 4 years. I like to consider myself independent, although I still talk to my parents at least once a day (sorry, mom!) There’s just something about packing up the first 4 years of my “adult” life to move crosscountry, where I know all of 3 or 4 people my age, and haaving no set purpose. It’s the purpose thing that I think worries me the most.  When I was looking at colleges, even when I was leaning towards Emerson or NYU, it wasn’t as scary because I knew I’d be a student for the next 4 years. Depite indecision over majors, club involvement, etc., my path was still pretty set.

Post-graduation, though, it’s really sunk in that I have no clue what I’m doing. I know what my passions are, and I certainly know some things I don’t want to do– please, no more food-service!–but that’s a long way from being able to confidently state, “I want to be a ____” or even, “I’m going to Boston to ____.” Eventually, I think I’d like to go to grad school, but that may be in business or digital publishing or god knows what. For now, when people ask me the big question (WHY are you going to BOSTON?), I just shrug and say “It’s time for a change in my life, and I’m hoping to get a job once I get my feet on the ground.”  Hoping is a pretty loaded word though, especially in this economy and for a lowly English/American Studies grad. I’m so excited to experience what Boston has to offer, but man, right now? I’m a nervous wreck. It’s okay though, I’m trying to channel that nervous energy by blogging and packing– and trying not to eat all of the food I have left at once– and trying to distract myself with design blogs for inspiration for my new place, not to mention job-hunting!

Anyways, my lease is in the mail, the first twelve (yikes) boxes of my stuff have arrived in Boston, and Finners got the a-ok to fly at the vet’s today. Speaking of which, he and I are both going on diets… he now weighs SEVENTEEN pounds! Oiy, fat kitty ftw. In other misc news, my phone is dying rapidly, so I’m hoping that a new battery will tide me over until I can afford a new one, even though I’ve only had it for a year and a half. Damn you, verizon!

Oh! And some things I’m super excited for about the move (I’m not always so negative nancy, I swear!) is the opportunity to try out all the cool little specialty food stores, Planet Fitness ($15/month!), and thrifting for furniture!! I’ve been doing a lot of lurking on Yelp.com and the Davis Square LJ community to see what’s going on 🙂 Also, I think it’s pretty awesome that my sis will be living in Davis, CA and I’ll be living in Davis Square, MA! We’re bicoastal Davis people, apparently…

I think I’ll leave you with a cool inspiration picture that I found today…

I'm SO stealing this mismatched chairs idea in my new place! From Allthingsthrifty.com (click on pic for link)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lindsey Donner
    May 25, 2010 @ 13:15:35

    Hi Linz,

    Good luck to you. This is exactly the kind of story that would work on iGrad too… I don’t think you realize that you’re being really inspiring!

    Not to mention, I did the same thing you did – up and moved, more than once, with just some “hope” and a feeling that the change would do me good. I was never wrong. (Of course, I always made sure I had cash to cover me – and I’ve never turned my nose up at a menial job.) Please keep us updated on your “landing” and all the excitement. I’m excited for you. I promise it will be worth your while. Change is ALWAYS good, in my book.

    Reply

  2. ljgoldner
    May 25, 2010 @ 14:34:00

    Linz-

    Thank you, you’re too sweet! I’d love to put this on iGrad, although I imagine I’d have to edit this a bit.

    Where’d you move from/to? Any advice for finding even menial jobs? I’m looking at tutoring once I get out there, although it will be hard to compete with Harvard grads!

    I will definitely keep blogging, it’s addictive! Also, check your email in a bit– I’m FINALLY typing up the rest of my “decorating your first place” post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

