A walk down (academic) memory lane…


My “things I learned in college” post got me to thinking about all of the academic things I’ve learned in college… which got me to thinking about all of the papers I’ve written. Since I started taking English classes first semester freshman year, I’ve been writing lots of papers every year. When my MacBook bit the dust, I lost some of them, but here’s an attempt to remember them. Enjoy the ridiculousness of my academic career!

  • Anti-semitism in Merchant of Venice (This was either my first or second college paper, for Shakespeare. It was awful.)
  • Metaphorical significance of gold in McTeague
  • Imagery and Dichotomy in Paradise Lost (My first A paper in college!)
  • Significance of Grice’s Maxims in Alice in Wonderland
  • Consonance and Assonance in John Donne’s “The Flea”
  • “Disillusionment in ‘The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock'”
  • “The Debate over California’s MGM Plan” (term paper for American Studies 10)
  • “Burgeoning Cities and Growing Feminism: Women in Literature”
  • “Procession and Contrasts: Milton’s Flower Catalogue in Lycidas
  • “Microcosms of the City in Venus in Boston and The Quaker City
  • Wasting time in The Screwtape Letters
  • Significance of Plants in The Duchess of Malfi
  • Interplay of Images and Language in Shel Silverstein’s poetry
  • “Connect and Disconnect: The Active Roles of Inheritance and Disinheritance in The Crying of Lot 49
  • Sensationalism and Racism in Reports of the Richmond High Gang Rape (this was REALLY depressing to research and write)
  • “Sight and Similes: Allegories, Imagery, Winged Creatures and Christ in the Climax of Milton’s Samson Agonistes”
  • Conversion of Male-Female Relationships to Fraternal Relationships in LOTR
  • Work in Progress 1- Significance of “Excitement” and rhetoric in Charles G. Finney’s Sermons/Writing
  • WIP 2- THESIS- Schadenfreude as the overarching popularizing element in RTV and social media

Looking back, this list (albeit incomplete) looks pretty impressive, if I do say so myself. It’s nice to be able to look back on all of the physical products of my hard work here at Cal, and see all of the ideas, no matter how out there, that I’ve come up with and managed to turn into papers!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. lindseydonner
    Apr 12, 2010 @ 21:40:54

    This made me all misty-eyed for college!

    Ridiculous – yes. Wonderful exercise in critical thinking – heck yes! I think writing papers, if you do it seriously, prepares you not just for more writing, but for interpreting everything you deal with in your life in a more critical and less superficial way. That is, if you take the plunge and really get absorbed. Since you remember most of this list, I’m guessing you took the plunge!

    (Of course, I’m a writer too; engineers might look at this list and think, “Are other people really doing that? FOR FOUR YEARS?”)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

